Home Page










About Us

Contact Us



Renmark Paringa Council

Ραδιοφωνικο ιδρυμα Κυπρου

Ελληνικη Ραδιοφωνια τηλεοραση




Robert Brokenshire and Kelly Vincent lose Upper House seats


May 2018

The new South Australian Liberal Government will be hoping for cooperation in the new mix of the Legislative Council to get its key reforms through parliament, but some key MLCs have already indicated they have their own views on certain issues.

The Upper House results were officially declared on Monday, with both the Liberal and Labor parties winning four seats each, Tammy Franks returning for the Greens, and SA Best picking up two seats.

Added to the MLCs whose terms continue, it makes a crossbench of two Greens, two SA Best and Advance SA’s John Darley.

Speaking at the Electoral Commission’s declaration event on Monday, Health Minister Stephen Wade was quick to remind them of who won the election.

"We are the largest team in the Council in terms of vote, and in terms of mandate we have been elected to form Government in the House of Assembly which is the house of Government," he said.

Ms Franks responded with her own speech, indicating a Liberal majority in the Lower House would not influence how her party voted in the Upper House.

"I look forward, not necessarily to this Government having an easy ride — I believe that this election was indeed a referendum on renewables and I’m going to remind the new Government that the outgoing government actually increased their vote," she said.

SA Best newly-elected Connie Bonaros indicated the party would continue to oppose key Government policies such as deregulation of shop trading hours and Mr Xenophon would continue to have a decision-making role.

The victorious candidates also acknowledged those who had lost their seats, particularly Dignity’s Kelly Vincent and Australian Conservatives’ Robert Brokenshire.

Ms Vincent in particular drew praise from both sides of politics, with Mr Wade commenting on her impact.

Ms Franks spoke of her sadness of seeing Ms Vincent and her team go.

It is now more than five weeks since South Australians went to the polls, but it has taken that long for the Electoral Commission to tackle the results of the new Legislative Council voting laws.

While 58 per cent of voters marked a single number above the line, 42 per cent either had multiple preferences or were informal votes. That is a tenfold increase in preferential voting on the previous state election.

The Legislative Council now includes the Liberal Party’s David Ridgway, Stephen Wade, Terry Stephens and Jing Lee, the Labor Party’s Emily Bourke, Justin Hanson, Irene Pnevmatikos and Clare Scriven, Tammy Franks from the Greens and Connie Bonaros and Frank Pangallo from SA Best.


Greek Tribune



The Cyprus
 News Agency


Designed & Developed by Michael Ppiros
  COPYRIGHT © 2010 Greek Community Tribune All Rights Reserved